Schedule 2023

Training

Workshops

Copyright beyond the Classroom: Considerations for Including 3rd Party Materials in Your Academic Work.

  • Wednesday, February 8, 12 pm – 1 pm.
  • Register.

Short, Sharp and to the Point: Communicating Your Research with Brevity and Impact.

  • Thursday, February 9, 4 pm – 5 pm.
  • Register.
3MT Personal Presentation Feedback Sessions (20 min by appointment)

Book a personal presentation feedback session with Jacqui Brinkman and Conny Scheffler from Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies.

Register.

  • Tuesday, February 21, 1 pm – 2 pm, 3 pm – 5 pm
  • Wednesday, February 22, 9:30 am – 10:30 am, 4 pm – 5 pm
  • Friday, February 24, 10 am – 12 pm, 1 pm – 3 pm
  • Tuesday, February 28, 3 pm – 5 pm
  • Wednesday, March 1, 10 am – 12 pm, 1 pm – 3 pm
  • Thursday, March 2, 1 pm – 4 pm
  • Friday, March 3, 1 pm – 4 pm
  • Monday, March 6, 10 am – 12 pm, 2 – 4 pm
  • Wednesday, March 8, 9:30 am – 11:30 am
  • Monday, March 13, 10 am – 12 pm, 2 – 5 pm

Departmental Heats:

February – March 2023.  The last day for departmental heats is Thursday, Mar 9. If you have any questions about hosting a heat of your own or registering to participate in any 3MT heat, please email graduate.pathways@ubc.ca .  This list is a work in progress and will be updated as heats are scheduled.

Zoology (for students in Zoology)

  • Wednesday, February 22
  • Contact Department

BC Children’s Hospital (BCCHR) (for students based at BCCHR or BC Women’s Hospital & Health Centre )

  • Thursday, February 23, 2 pm – 3 pm, in-person (with online option).
  • Register.

Chemical and Biological Engineering

  • Thursday, February 24
  • Details tbc

School of Biomedical Engineering (SBME)

  • Wednesday, March 1, 11 am – 12:30 pm, in-person (with online audience participation).
  • For more information, e-mail.

Forestry  (for students in the Faculty of Forestry)

Physics and Astronomy (for students in the Department of Physics and Astronomy)

  • Thursday, March 2, 2023, 4 pm.
  • For more information, please contact Janis McKenna.

Vancouver Coastal Health Research Institute

  • Friday, March 3
  • Registration page coming soon

Open Heat I (for students in any discipline)

Open Heat II (for students in any discipline)

3MT Semi-finals:

  • Tuesday, March 14, 10 am – 12 pm and 4 – 6 pm, in-person (with online option).
  • The list of semi-finalists and more details coming.
  • Register as an audience.

3MT Final:

  • Thursday, March 16, 12-2 pm, Jack Poole Hall South, Robert H. Lee Alumni Centre (with online option).
  • The list of finalist and more details coming.
  • Register as an audience.

Western Regional Competition

Date: Thursday, May 25
Host institution: University of Saskatchewan

National 3MT Showcase

TBD, traditionally held each November at the Canadian Association for Graduate Studies Annual Meeting.